| Bruceton City Hall
209 Cheatham St.
P.O. Box 136 • Bruceton, TN 38317
731-586-2401 • Fax 731-586-2402
Industry: Railway Switching Yard
Mayor: Robert T. Keeton III
Vice Mayor: Cliff Sturdivant
Aldermen: Renee Ford, Jenna Young, Scotty Higdon, Robert Cole
Bruceton, Tennessee is located in Northeast Carroll County and encompasses a total of 1.9 square miles alongside the Big Sandy River. The population was 1,554 at the 2000 census.
The area that is now Bruceton was first known as Hollow Rock Junction and was known as so until 1921 when railroad officials chose Hollow Rock Junction as the central location for terminals in Lexington, Paducah and Martin. The Post Office was established on July 7, 1922 with Sarah M. Boyd as the first Postmaster. In order to give the post office a name, it was dubbed New One and operated under than name until January 15, 1923 when the name was changed to Junction City due to Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Railway's presence. In 1928, a group of citizens that wanted to honor W.P. Bruce, then an official of the railroad and a tremendous contributor to the community's developmental progress, requested and received a charter that incorporated the town as Bruceton. Kirk Hogan was the first mayor of Bruceton.
N.C. & St. L Railroad Company formed the Tennessee Property Company in order to offer affordable housing to railroad workers, their families, and also, with the hopes of attracting future residents. The TPC obtained land from local residents and subdivided it which provided more affordable real estate to those interested in settling in Bruceton. This effort attracted many to the area, and Bruceton was beginning to prosper as a railroad junction.
The roundhouse in Bruceton is a testament to the business that once thrived around the railroad. The original wooden roundhouse, built in 1921, was completely destroyed by fire on November 21, 1924. In early 1925, a concrete roundhouse was constructed to replace it. Although it has been abandoned for quite some time, the roundhouse remains a gigantic presence that stands as a reminder of times past.
During the time of the depression, many railroad jobs were terminated which was a serious blow to the economic health of Bruceton. The railroad was the town's only source of financial gain at the time which meant that the people needed to develop an alternate source. The citizens raised enough money to build a factory with the hopes of luring industry into town. The town would not accept just anyone; the new owner would have to agree to use local labor. Henry I. Siegel Company purchased the building in the 1930's and replenished the town's economic stamina by becoming the largest employer in Bruceton and Carroll County and one of the top ten employers in all of west Tennessee.
Initially, there were no educational facilities located in the town of Bruceton. Children were either sent to boarding school in another town or to a neighboring town to attend public or private school. In later years, and old coach provided by the railroad was used as a classroom. A new school building was erected to serve rural students, and those meeting in the old coach were then transferred to this building. The Bruceton Elementary School was built in the early 1920's and the High School was built in 1937.
Click on any thumbnail image
below to see a detailed photo.
Atwood • Clarksburg
• Hollow Rock • Huntingdon
McLemoresville • Trezevant • Communities
This site developed and maintained by
©2001 - 2015 Carroll County Chamber of Commerce, All Rights Reserved,